'3RD DZMM Takbo Para sa Karunungan' Champ Team Reveals!

Rocky Batara
Defending champions for the 21km men’s and 10km foreign categories ruled this year’s “3rd Takbo para sa Karunungan,” organized by ABS-CBN’s AM station DZMM, after they reclaimed their championship title and scored a back-to-back win yesterday (Mar 23) at the Quirino Grandstand in Manila, where over 3,000 runners united to run for the benefit of 75 young Filipino scholars.

Two-time Olympian and now, two-time “DZMM Takbo Para sa Karungungan” champion, Eduardo Buenavista, led the male runners by touching the finish line with the time of 1 hour, 13 minutes and 21 seconds (01:13:21) for the 21km category while Kenyan Willy Rotich, who topped the 5km race way back in 2011, once again clinched the top spot in the 10km foreign male category with the time of 32 minutes and 57 seconds (32:57).

Luisa Raterta, meanwhile, controlled the 21km female category as she finished with a time of 1 hour, 33 minutes and 09 seconds (01:33:09). Raterta won third last year in the 10km women’s race category.

Richard Salano (33:20), on the other hand, secured the top spot in the 10km men’s race, with Rene Herrera (34:26) and Orson Quisay (35:52) coming in second and third respectively, while Jenysmyl Mabunga (41:37) dominated the 10km female race followed by Michelle De Vera (45:00) on second and Jenelyn Jurdilla (46:41) on third.

Other top finishers include Rafael Poliquit (16:07) and Dalya Camen (23:07) for the 5 km race; and Roy Lumauag (13:23) and Nancy Lumauag (21:11) for the 6-9 year old age bracket, and Alessandro Luciano (11:42) and Leonalyn Raterta (11:49) for the 10-12 year old age bracket of the young runners’ 3km sprint.

For the special awards, 87-year old Felix Belarmino was awarded as the oldest participant of the fun run. The Biggest Government Contingent award was given to National Mapping and Resource Information Authority (NAMRIA), while the Biggest NGO contingent was CFC ANCOP Tekton Foundation, Inc.

DZMM ambassadors Kim Atienza and Karylle with actor MatteoGuidecilli, ABS-CBN Manila Radio Division Head Peter Musngi, and DZMM anchors Ariel Ureta, Ahwel Paz, Winnie Cordero, Marisciel Yao, Claire Castro, and Carl Balita were among the television and radio personalities who took part in this year’s fun run.

This is the 14th year of the DZMM’s annual funrun. It was first launched in 1999 as “DZMM Takbo Para sa Kalikasan” that supported several campaigns for the environment.  It thenlater on evolved to “Takbo para sa Karunungan” to support the station’s thrust in promoting education.

Funds raised from this campaign will be used to continue thescholarship of 75 student-beneficiaries from Cagayan de Oro and Metro Manila who were affected by the typhoon Sendong, Ondoy and the Habagat. - The Lifestyle Portal

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)